A digression

Over the last week, I have been in Canberra, our nation’s capital.  It is a bit colder than Adelaide.  Also it is very easy to reach a higher altitude than the tallest mountain in Adelaide, Mount Lofty.  Mostly, I visited all the touristy things, but I had to see some orchids before I left Canberra, tomorrow.

I took a walk earlier but did not see a single orchid.  Later I found out the soil was not right. So today I set out again, in the afternoon, and the light was beginning to fade.  I did find some Pterostylis sp. leaves.  I’m not game enough to identify them beyond that.

With light making it harder to photograph, I found these, and well they kept me occupied for a while.

One of them didn’t mind me being less than a metre away.  The other barely moved.

Heading back to the car, I photographed this daisy.  Sorry, I didn’t see any more orchids.

The above picture Dad held his phone with its flash on while I took the photograph.  It was getting dark.  Maybe I’ll return to Canberra and see some more orchids then.

A final picture looking to the east.

Leave a Reply

