Spring is here

It is the first day of spring, and so far the day has been very pleasant with the glorious sun out.  Spring is also the busy season for orchid lovers.  Although there will be orchids out most of the year, now is when the majority of them will be flowering.  Today, I’m including a couple of pictures for you to enjoy; pictures taken on glorious spring days.

Oligochaetochilus arenicola – Rufus hoods
I have written about this orchid before, and it will soon be flowering in the more arid parts of Australia.  It is a spectacular plant to see, and the leaves have been up now for some time.

Thelymitra – Sun Orchid
These flowers, particularly the blue ones, are deceptively hard to identify, opening only when it is warm enough.  Many of them look very similar, but they are rewarding to find on a warm spring day.

Diruis – Donkey Orchid
Another favourite, and a very beautiful flower.  In South Australia, ours are only yellow with some having red, but the eastern states have a pink donkey orchid.

Arachnorchis – Spider Orchid
A beautiful collection of flowers, which when ever I see them each year, I can’t help thinking that they look so much smaller then how they are portrayed in the pictures.

Calochilus – Bearded Orchid
I love the rough, straggly beard of this orchid.  It adds so much character to the flower.

Caleana – Duck Orchid
This would have to be one of the orchids that I really look forward to seeing, but it won’t be flowering until the end of spring.  The first few times I saw these orchids, it was wet and raining, but last year, the sun came out.

… so tiny…

4 thoughts on “Spring is here

  1. Madoqua

    Yes, spring is here and this year I want to capture lots of orchid photos, so will have to get out into the bush soon. Love your photos, they do these exquisite plants such justice.

    Reply
    1. Helen Post author

      Thank you for your kind words. I hope you have lots of fun photographing them, and I will be watching to see some of your pictures on your blog!

  2. austravelphotography

    How do you know so much about orchids? I had no idea there were so many different varieties in Australia. Lovely photos too, and I agree they look better without a flash. I will have to keep an eye out when I am in the bush! Also thanks for liking my posts and following my blog.

    Reply
    1. Helen Post author

      I’ve been fortunate to know some of the orchid experts in Australia, and have learnt a lot about orchids mainly through the Native Orchid Society of South Australia. In South Australia we have over 300 species, which does seem a lot, but WA and the Eastern states have more than us. Where are you in Australia? I would really enjoy seeing pictures you find of these beautiful flowers!

Leave a Reply

