Orchid Hunter Australia Videos

Last year when I browsed through YouTube for orchid videos, I did not find many that were interesting.  However the other day, I had another look on-line  and it appears that a few Australians have been uploading their videos of orchids, and I would like to share with you some of them.

The two that leaped out at me are called Orchid Hunter Australia 1 & 2, filmed and produced by Julian Pitcher.  They are of Victorian orchids, but apply to orchid hunting right across Australia.  Let me congratulate Julian on doing such a great job, and I really look forward to seeing more of these videos.

Orchid Hunter Australia 1

In this first videos, Julian introduces us to some of the basic things to look for when orchid hunting, and I felt he really captured what it is like to look for orchids, and how they can blend into the bush.

Orchid Hunter Australia 2

This is probably my favourite of the two, as looking for orchids turns into a military expedition.  It really feels like that sometimes!  It was also good to find information about other plants and animals in the video, as they all influence the whole ecosystem.

Corysanthes diemenica

This is a short film  by Richard Davion which captures some of the joy of finding orchids.

What I enjoy about seeing films of orchids is that it captures the three diemnsional feel of the flowers, which is lacking in orchid photography.  Later on I would like to spent time producing my own videos with narration, and helping in identifying orchids.  But in the meantime I will enjoy what others are producing.  It is about making other aware that these tiny terrestrial orchids are there, and need to be protected.

For other orchid videos please visit the video page, or my YouTube channel.  Please help me share these videos.

Leave a Reply

