Orchids are amazing

I did not really need to tell you that, because you already knew it.  However, since I started OrchidNotes twitter account, @OrchidNotes, I’ve gained an appreciation of some of the other orchids which grow beyond the shores of Australia.  True, in Australia, we probably have the greatest diversity of orchids, with over 193 genera, over 1300 named species, with 95% being endemic to Australia.  82% of our orchids are terrestrial.  (Jones 2006, pp. 12-13)  So today, I’m going to do something that I have not done before, and share some pictures of orchids which I have never ever seen (but would like to see, maybe one day).

Monkey Face Orchid

The Monkey Face Orchid is so realistic, and I’ve seen so many pictures of this orchid.  It appears to have a lot of variation across the flowers.

Source

Source

Bee Orchid

So there is the bee orchid, ophrys apifera.  I love the little smile that it has.  It grows in Europe.

File:Ophrys apifera (flower).jpg

Source

Source

Lady Slipper’s Orchid

This is another European orchid.  It has quite spectacular colouring, especially captured by the sun light as seen in this picture below.

Source

Source

The Flying Orchid

This flower actually has an intreging was of making sure it is pollinated.  See here for more information.

Source

Helmet Orchid

Many of our orchids are also found in New Zealand.  I found this rather cute picture of a helmet orchid.  None in Australia have antennae!

Source

Bearded Orchid

This is an Australian orchid, which I have not feature here much, sadly.  It is another incredible orchid.  I love the beard.

 calochilus robertsonii

Duck Orchid

Probably the most popular and amazing orchid in the world would be the Flying Duck Orchid, and I have seen this flower.  It is incredible.  This is the most popular orchid according to OrchidNotes stats.

Duck 2 copy

What is you favourite orchid?

References

Jones, D. 2006. Native Orchids of Australia; A Complete Guide to native orchids of Australia including the island territories. pp. 12-13.

Also, here is a link to an article showing some of the orchids from the world which look like animals and birds.

9 thoughts on “Orchids are amazing

  1. wordsfromanneli

    Beautiful. I wish we had orchids here in the Pacific Northwest. There may be one or two kinds, but they’re very rare. Not something we often stumble upon during a walk in the woods.

    Reply
    1. Helen Post author

      I guess I’m fortunate in Australia, as many of our native bushland have orchids growing there. Though once you venture into central Australia, which is mostly desert, you won’t find any orchids.

  2. Jennykangarilla

    Helen thank you for this article. I am in awe of the Monkey Orchid! I too see the Flying Duck Orchid (and also the “baby” Duck ) in the Kuitpo Forest and the Beardy and feel very privileged to do so. I am an amateur in the orchid world but love to photograph them on my walks in the forest. I appreciate your articles and learn from them. It was good for me to read the “common names” of the orchids in this article. Colours of orchids are also amazing and I have visited Jenny’s Orchid Farm at Howard Springs (Google for more info) in the NT many times and wish that we could have them here.

    Reply
    1. Helen Post author

      The orchid world is quite amazing and diverse. It sounds like you have been fortunate to see some of the more fascinating and beautiful specimens which grow in the Adelaide hills. I too love it when I have the opportunity to photograph orchids, though I need a new camera.

      I tend to use a mixture of common and scientific names. The problem with common names is there might be several for the one orchid.

    1. Helen Post author

      The spider orchids are quite beautiful. They have larger flowers than the other orchids. Is there any particular spider orchid that you prefer over the others?

Leave a Reply

