Nice and Close

Its nice that I am discovering more features on the new camera, or rather my very kind brother is showing me them as he finds them.  Anyway, three weeks ago when I photographed the Arachnorchis rigida, I felt that the pictures had way to much blue in them.  Since then, I learnt how to adjust the white balance, and so now the pictures are closer to the true colours.

Arachnorchis tentaculata

I love this picture of these two spider orchids, Arachnorchis tentaculata, which are hugging each other.  I did not realize that they had two different stem colours, until I looked at the photograph.  Interestingly, the digital camera did not show this as vividly.  Below is another view of the same two orchids.

Arachnorchis tentaculata Another orchid that I saw recently was of the Purple Cockatoo Orchid, Glossodia major.  There was a lovely patch of well over a hundred plants.  I had first found this patch while all the orchids were in bud, but when I went back two weeks later, more than half had finished flowering.  This species has a lot of diversification in colour from a deep purple right through to pure white.

Glossodia major

Glossodia major

Enjoy your weekend!

11 thoughts on “Nice and Close

  1. fifteenacres

    Helen, you have me intrigued. We have these everywhere, and all of the books I see refer to them as Waxlips, but I love the name you have shared – Purple Cockatoo Orchid (and I can see why it is named so). Are there different types of Waxlip Orchids? Ours range from the colour you show right down to a washed out looking blue. I have not seen a white one, but I met a woman on Friday night who showed me some photos of white ones. They are beautiful.

    Also love the Spider Orchids. We had one. I took photos, but it seems something has nipped its head off, even though I had it protected with a loop of squared fencing wire. Very sad. This means no seeds to grow next year.

    Lisa.

    Reply
    1. Helen Post author

      There are several orchids which have two common names. Another is the Wallflower donkey orchid, also known as Bulldog donkey orchid. Sometimes two orchids share the same common name. This is why I prefer to use the scientific names.

      There are two Glossodia species, the common one which we see everywhere. The other is the minor, a smaller flower, and only grows in Victoria and NSW, mostly to the east of Melbourne and up the eastern coast. I’ve never seen them, and I understand that they are rare.

      I have seen the white flowers of G. major. They are quite pretty, but I personally prefer the purple flowers.

      I hope your spider orchid turns up again. They don’t grow very well from seed, talking five years to mature, and always need an adult plant present. This somehow helps with the fungi. Many of the orchids spread by growing new tubers, under the ground. Let’s hope that happens!

Leave a Reply

