Spiders

One aspect which makes orchid really appealing is their variety and beauty.  They are stunning pieces of artwork.  Here are some photographs of some of the spider orchids (Arachnorchis) that grow in South Australia.

The most common spider orchid is the King Spider Orchid, Arachnorchis tentaculata.  It is a stunning orchid, and one of the larger ones, being up to 10 cm across.

Arachnorchis tentaculata

Arachnorchis tentaculata

The Queen Spider orchid, Arachnorchis leptochila, is not as common in South Australia.  It is smaller than its sister, and has a more rigid flower.

Arachnorchis leptochila

Arachnorchis leptochila

There are many other spider orchids, but one of my favourite ones would have to be  Arachnorchis rigida.  It’s white petals are so crisp.  This is also quite a small flower.

Arachnorchis rigida

 

4 thoughts on “Spiders

  1. Rebecca

    Hello! I’ve been a follower of your blog for a while now, and love reading your posts. I am a South Australian like you, and I love reading about the South Australian orchids you find and discuss.
    I know you don’t post very frequently, so I hope you don’t mind, but in an upcoming post on my own blog on 4 May, I’ll be nominating you for the Blog Tour Award. I hope it will bring you more readers, which you certainly deserve. If you’re not familiar with the rules of the Award, my blog post will set them out. I hope you have fun with it :).
    Rebecca.

    Reply
    1. Helen Lawrence Post author

      Hello Rebecca. I’m glad you have enjoyed reading OrchidNotes. Unfortunately, my life has become exceptionally busy and blogging has moved further down my priority list, but thank you for the nomination. 🙂 It is always good to hear that people enjoy discovering about Australian orchids.
      Helen.

    2. Rebecca

      Helen, thank you for your reply. I totally understand how life can get so busy. I hope at the least that a few more readers come your way through my nomination, even if only to read your old posts, because it is a lovely blog and deserves a wide audience. All the best,
      Rebecca.

Leave a Reply

