Four years

So it has now been four years since I have been observing this patch of helmet orchids (Corysanthes diemenica).  The first time I saw it in 2011 was probably the best year.  This year was not brilliant but it looked fairly good.  2013 was probably when I saw the least number of orchids flowering.

Corysanthes diemenica in 2011

In 2011 I saw the most flowers in this patch.

Corysanthes diemenica

In 2012, there were not many flowers out and is probably the least number of flowers I’ve seen at this patch.

Corysanthes diemenica

In 2013, there were not many flowers but a lot of leaves were up.

Corysanthes diemenica

So 2014 put in a fairly decent display.  A lot of the plants that were up were flowering.

And here is a picture of the little helmet orchids (taken on my phone) when the sun decided to come out!

Corysanthes diemenica

4 thoughts on “Four years

  1. fifteenacres

    Ha ha! I went out looking for them again today too, and now that I know what I’m looking for, I see them everywhere. It won’t be long before I have a photograph of the flower, but our patches are not as plentiful as the ones in your photos. Well done! 🙂 Lisa

    Reply
    1. Helen Lawrence Post author

      Once you get the eye for them you can’t stop seeing them! They do tend to grow in clusters but generally not as large a patch as above.

  2. Tanya

    I saw a small patch of these (about 20) along the side of the trail at Morialta on the weekend. I thought they were little mushrooms of some description to start with. I didn’t realise the variety if orchids we have in adelaide. My mum always pointed out spider orchids when we were kids so that’s all I tend to notice. Very nice 🙂

    Reply
    1. Helen Lawrence Post author

      Yes there are quite a lot of helmet orchids there as well as a number of other orchid species. I’ll be putting up a post soon of some of the orchids I’ve seen recently at Morialta.

Leave a comment